Liebster Award.

I’ve been nominated for the Liebster Award by “Maestro”, who runs a blog by the name of Elegies And Aches, and I believe him to be one of the best poetry writers I’ve had the honor to interact with on wordpress.

Liebster Award

 

And here are my answers to his questions:

Why exactly do you write?

Why do I write? Honestly I have no other reason than I’m quite pathetic at explaining myself in speech, so writing’s the best option. I know it sounds quite shallow, but it’s just that I’ve never been comfortable expressing my self in speech, it’s easier to write it down. All feelings and frustrations.

Do you believe in miracles? If yes, have you ever seen one?

Miracles? People have a very different understanding of miracles, you know? People may translate it as something unexplainable, something positive but in no one’s control… But to me it is as Arabic has taught me.

In the Arabic language – the Quran-ic Arabic to be more specific, the term that’s used for miracles is “Ai’jaz”. And although it’s simplified translation in English is miracles, it actually means something else. The word originates from the word “Ajaz” which means to be on your knees, overpowered. To be rendered incapable, overwhelmed. And the the thing that overpowers you is known to be “Aajiz” over you. And the entire phenomenon is known as “Ai’jaz”. Which is the word that Arabic uses for miracles.

So to me when I hear the word miracles, the meaning that registers with me is that of “Ai’jaz”. Things that forced me to my knees. Those which overwhelmed me with how unbelievable and pure they were. And in Ai’jaz, I believe with all my existence taken into account.

There are too many things that overwhelmed me. Too many that forced me to my knees. The fact that I was born and raised in a genuine Islamic society, in a practicing Muslim family, is a miracle to me. The peace and contentment, the humility of praying and talking to my Lord five times every day has brought me to my knees every time. Learning the definition of a woman in Islam over the coarse of many years has been my greatest miracle. Discovering verses in the Quran that were too heavy with meaning for me to handle all at once has been my miracle.

And one very beautiful and simple miracle, despite being a very casual thing, that forced me down to my knees, overwhelmed, is this big blessing in my life called Javeriya. She’s my friend and the level of understanding between us would force anyone to their knees if they experienced it. We’re birds of a feather. If she were a boy, I’d have married her.

They say a great writer is a great reader. Do you agree?

I think I do. Writing is a way of expressing yourself to people in order to connect with them. And if you know what connection really is, you will be good at connecting in both ways. Reading and writing.

What is the basic ingredient according to you for someone to be a writer?

Genuine and simple and honest emotions and a desire to connect with people. Emotions such as empathy are important.

How do you cope with writer’s block, if you find yourself in the situation?

I don’t cope with it, really. I just leave it. If my mind is numb, I let it be. It’ll come back to feeling on its own. It always does. Watch movies, read books, listen to music, give myself a break… 🙂

Which is more important, heart or brain? 

Well, technically, both are important, I’d die without either, but if you’re speaking about which one to follow, like which one gives better advice, then I think my heart is best. Our heart is our conscience. It knows and urges us to stay away from things that may stain our souls (i.e. if your heart is in the right place and not on your sleeve). Plus, I personally believe in trusting your instincts and I believe instincts to be a gift of the heart, not the brain… 🙂

Do you think you are living your life well? Do you sleep satisfied at the end of the day?

Frankly, I never sleep satisfied… I constantly feel nagged by the realization that there’s too much I’ve left undone. I feel like time is not enough, it keeps running out and every time I reflect over this, I feel like I’m stuck in slow motion and there’s so much to do!

It’s dreadful really. Leads to horrible anxiety in the pit of my stomach. :/

Name your favourite music artists.

Oh, Nayab, there are so many…

Greenday, Ed Sheeran, AC-DC, Arctic Monkeys, Passenger, The Neighbourhood, Phil Collins, Janelle Monae, The Backstreet Boys, The Script, Snow Patrol, The Fray, The Smiths, The Beatles, Halsey, Melanie Martinez, Panic! at the Disco, Young the Giant, Years and Years, Maroon 5, Imagine Dragons, Troye Sivan, One Republic, Coldplay, Lorde, Big Phony, Stevie Wonder, Smashing Pumpkins, Jaymes Young, Evanessence, Linkin Park, Lana Del Rey, First Aid Kit, Eminem, Modest Mouse, 5 Seconds of Summer, Death Cab for Cutie… etc. etc.

Lol, I’m sorry, I can just never get over music. Songs just never get too old for me!

And these are just my favourites… :3

Blogs I’m nominating:

Randomly Abstract

White Shadows

Stories and Srcibblings

Roller Coaster Rides

Atta ul Kibria

Bano’s World

My questions are:

Since when have you been writing and why?

Naturally, you must be a reader, so what are your most favourite books or those that you would strongly recommend for your readers to read?

What do you personally feel is a terrible aspect of the society that you live in which needs to immediately be changed?

Who are the people you admire most in life?

If there was one thing among all that you would truly want to thank your Lord for, what would that be?

Tea or Coffee? Apple or Android? Facebook or Twitter?

Any good in the kitchen? 😛

Are you satisfied with who you are?

Pray for me?

AWARD RULES

Once you are nominated, make a post thanking and linking the person who nominated you.

Include the Liebster Award sticker in the post too.

Nominate 5 -10 other bloggers who you feel are worthy of this award. Let them know they have been nominated by commenting on one of their posts. You can also nominate the person who nominated you.

Lastly, COPY these rules in the post.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

37 thoughts on “Liebster Award.

      1. 😂
        I’m so sorry…
        I’m actually laughing. I cannot stop.
        Sorry :’)
        By the way that changes nothing 🙂

  1. Oh cmon chasing cars is legendary. I’ve heard it. I even liked set fire to the third bar by snow patrol.
    I’ll try monsters 🙂

  2. I heard monsters. Thanks. It’s a very good song.
    I had kinda figured you didn’t like mainstream music, from your recommendations…
    Panic! At the disco is kinda of mainstream though.
    Big phony’s good but difficult to find. They’re not very popular, but they have very good music.

    1. I have found big phony but their style doenst impress me much. I prefer alexi murdoch and ben howard tbh.
      I have a link for you if you are upto listening to a funky indie song that i am in love with for some time now.

      1. Listen to I Want What You Got by Palace #np on #SoundCloud

        I absolutely love this song. Hope u will like it too

      2. Plus till I get back. Two recommendations
        1 outta time by oasis
        2 bittersweet symphony by the verve..
        Do check your mail. Take care

  3. I saw this post earlier but I wanted to respond when I could properly do it. Which is to say, I noticed all the changes here. 😉
    Thank you for the award. If Liebster means kindest or sweetest, you’re truly a liebster.
    And I also loved reading your answers, esp. about Aijaz and Muajza. With the night-anxiety-thingy I relate too. Guess we all do, at times?
    I would say the same thing as you about coping (or not coping) with a writer’s block. Sigh.
    Also. Your questions are interesting. I feel like answering them and I think I will do a post inshaa Allah. Prayers, for sure. *sending you an invisible (and not unreal) box of warm wishes and all them nice chocolates from Karachi*

    1. Aww, oh Maria, you know I quite missed you 🙂
      And yeah I’ll be looking forward to you liebster post. Wanna know your answers 🙂
      And you’re right. We all go through the anxiety at times. Mine keeps troubling me every few months :/
      But your chocolates will hopefully help me cope with it :3

  4. I loved your answers! So deep…
    I have a question.. Where are you from? I’m being curious 🙂 you don’t have to answer if you don’t want to

      1. Ah, Arabs. They’re like white people. They use their Arab privileges like white people use their white privileges. Like Supremacists. 😦

      2. Yes, i can totally understand your feeling.. I’m an arab but I don’t like the behaviour of a lot of arabic people. In Lebanon, I was alAys shocked at the way they are racists & the way they treat Sri Lanki & Indian people living there. I think most of lebanese people feel superior to other people, and that Hat I hate most about my compatriots. So I tptally understand what you mean. And to be honest, I was shocked Hen said that Lebanese people are cute hahaaa

      3. Oh no but they are. I’ve seen a bunch of ’em here in Kuwait. It’s a fact 🙂
        But it’s not just the racism, it’s even politically abusive to the expats. Like for eg: Kuwaitis have their health taken care of by the government, they have car and house maintenance by the government. They’ve got their insurance covered. They’ve got good salaries.
        Non Kuwaitis and non westerners only have an average of 500-600 dinars of salary. No maintenance, no health care, no nothing.
        Only that much money and we live in tiny one bedroom hall apartments with our families and those apartment cost like 270-280 dinars 😦
        And then you’ve got bills and groceries and fees for college and tuitions and stuff and your health, it’s very difficult.
        It’s great monopoly on part of the government at our expense 😦
        I’m gonna be getting out of here the first chance I get.
        I wish Muslims nations actually lived up to the Muslim standard… It’s really depressing to see Muslim nations be this careless of people’s livelihoods.

Leave a Reply

