New Year?

342011114643453photocontestwinner

 

I don’t believe in New Years. End it on a good note, begin on a better note, no thank you.

New Year simply means a change in the date’s digits. It’s not a new book. I’m not gonna “begin again”. It’s just a new page. And when the page number of your book changes, no one gives a damn.

It’s your story that matters.

Not the page numbers.

A new page doesn’t mean a separate story with new rules.

You’re gonna continue the same life, the same story, on a different page number.

I know.

I’m boring.

But New Year means nothing to me.

The only thing I’m excited for is the different year that I’ll write as a date on my journal every day.

That’s it.

And about resolutions, well, I’ve realized that I don’t need to wait for the year to end to make big decisions about my life or habits. If you really wanna change, you’ll change any day. You won’t have to wait for a New Year. So in that context, I make newer resolutions every other day.

Literally, nothing is special to me about “New Year”.

Sorry guys.

I know I’m bursting y’all’s bubbles, but no.

No New Year for me.

And I’m happy that way.

But in fact, what I am excited about is The Kuwait National day which although takes place at the end of February, is celebrated throughout January and the whole of February, by the Kuwaitis.

So much, that often people from Oman and Bahrain and Saudi Arabia show up, just in order to witness the celebrations. But they usually arrive in the month of February.

All the decorations and fireworks and the street dancing too.

No kiddin’.

Btw, the picture above is of the Eid-ul-Watani celebrations. Not New Year.

Here’s another one:

Kuwait-Fireworks-Display

(Yes I Had to google it)

Have a good next year you guys.

– Hiba

 

35 thoughts on “New Year?

      1. I promise I will start reuploading them one by one. Plus new poems starting from tomorrow inShaAllah.
        Happy?…

  1. I agree with you, girl. There is literally nothing new about New Year’s to me. And, I don’t believe in resolutions, either. If you want to change, you don’t need a New Year to do it. 🙂

  2. i like the way you think – positive on the inside with a sort of negative cover, by which most would see as negative without looking deeper. lovely post and i think i like your blog very much! 😀

  3. I like the way you look at this New Years thing. My girlfriend just mentioned something similar to this last night and now I see the point. I’m interested in seeing your view on more things in the future!

  4. I agree with you, you will only change if you want to change no matter what day it is but hey if people start to make improvements in their life because it was their new years resolution, good for them 🙂

Leave a Reply

