“Food Challenge”

Okay so I got nominated for this challenge very long ago by Inky and by Sana. I’m not sure if any one else had nominated me… I just remember my nominations, lol. Not my nominators 🙄

So Inky’s got an amazing blog full of poetry, photography, and very random but relatable thoughts and very motivational pieces as well. Do check her blog out. And as for Sana, she’s got a brilliant blog. Truly. I love the way she breaks different quotes down so as to relate them with life and all her comics and her poetry too. Here’s her blog. 🙂

So I’ve got the rules here:

RULES:

  1. You have to write your feelings not the recipe.
  2. You have to tell the person who is nominating you what is your favourite food(so He/She can also give it a try if they like. 🙂 )
  3. You have to add a picture of the dish.
  4. You have to nominate 7 persons for this challenge.

Now first of all, I cannot pick just one dish, okay? So I’m gonna talk about a bunch of different foods that I like. ‘Cause, yes I’m a foodie.

So to break it down, I’ve tried a bunch of different cuisines. I was raised on Desi and Arabic cuisine. And other than those, I’ve tried Italian, Thai and Chinese, and some bit of Mexican too.

Among Desi food, I love literally everything. From Biryani to Daal to Pulao to Korma. I think that the only desi thing I don’t like is Paratha and Nihari and Paye (yuck). I’m sorry, I just don’t X-( (Buakh)

But I specifically wanna talk about those south Indian dishes that I had the honor to try due to my Indian friends. (Those friends rock btw) So I had tried Dosa the first time very long ago when I was in grade four. A girl named Farhana used to bring Dosa for lunch and we all used to share our lunch, so yeah. Haha. It was delish. The one thing I really tell my Indian friends to make for me is that. Then there’s idli which I had tried with mint chutney/sauce a few years ago and that day had been legendary. It’s a very long story as to why it had been legendary but me and the friend who had made me try idli had made amazing memories that day. I cannot even put it into words.

Btw, my dad and I really like Sambar 😀

Oh and I had tried curd rice a few months ago at my friend’s place and it had been so good that I had taken the recipe from her so I could make it for my mom. 😀

My mom had loved it 😀

Too bad I don’t have pictures…

But I really really really love Arabic food. It’s usually always very light and refreshing. You will feel full but never overfull. You’ll feel just satisfied. From Fatayer to the falafel sandwich to Ruz Bukhari to Shawerma to Cuzi to Khubz and Hummus to labneh and olives for breakfast. I literally love the Arabic style of eating. I can spend my entire life living upon this cuisine. It’s the healthiest and most refreshing kind of cuisine. It’s majorly built on wheat and grains like rice and chickpeas and herbs that include thyme, parsley and sage and dairy products like yogurt and labneh etc. And you’ve got the favorite fruits: pomegranate and orange. And most usual vegetables include spinach, cucumber, tomatoes, olives, carrots, and eggplant and zucchini. And of course, olive oil 😛

Olive oil is love okay? I never ever cook my food in anything other than olive oil.

Actually I’m too conscious of what I eat.

No I’m not dieting, I’m a foodie, remember?

But I just like to eat healthy, that’s all. I’ve got the Arabic gene in me, lol. So I never ever consume white sugar either. Sorry I don’t. (Not even in my beverages. Not in my tang or in my kahwa. Not even in my coffee) Very rarely do I make dessert and when I do, I make sure to use refined brown sugar instead of white. White sugar is poison. If by mistake I consume white sugar, I go hours feeling horrible and guilty. I start saying to myself: Hiba, apne upar itna zulm? Ainda mat lena white sugar…

I mean okay, I can ignore it on the rare occasions when I visit someone at their place and they serve me with white sugar products and food cooked in ghee or butter. On those rare occasions I cannot be impolite. It’s against my Arabic values. According to the Arabic tradition, if you visit someone at their house, especially if you’re visiting and Arab itself, and he offers you something of the food in his house, you cannot and you should not refuse. Even if it’s just dates and water. It’s considered incredibly disrespectful to decline the offer. I mean come on, they’re doing good. Why snatch their chance? Have from what they offer you. Unless you’ve got health problems of course.

So yeah, I can ignore my food consciousness when someone offers me from their food with that much of love. 🙂

But usually I’m very conscious. No white flour, no white sugar, no butter or ghee, or simply anything other than olive oil. In fact, I even avoid frying my fries. I bake ’em 🙄

Yeah kill me now.

But who said that being a foodie means not being conscious of health?

I mean I don’t wanna end up with diabetes and all those heart problems when I’m in my forties okay? Forties and fifties is too young. 🙄

I mean yeah I love McDonald’s and KFC and Dominos Pizza and all but it’s not like I order it everyday. Look you’re allowed to eat everything as long as you know how to balance it. Maybe once or twice in a month you’re allowed to eat all that stuff but you’ve gotta eat healthy. Be kind to yourself. You can’t keep poisoning yourself like that. (Haraaam!)

Okay, and then there’s all those other cuisines and I like ’em too. I mean who doesn’t like Italian or Chinese? I feel sorry for you if you don’t 😛

I especially love the aroma of those herbs that are used in Italian food.

I recently learnt an amazing recipe for pasta which involves those herbs. It is only when I read the recipe that I realized where that aroma comes from. It’s from the Italian seasoning which is not even all that difficult to make. All you need is dried basil, oregano, dried parsley, rosemary, thyme, garlic powder and onion powder. Just but ’em in a chopper and let ’em grind. So next time you wanna make good pasta, add it to your sauce or mince or however you make your pasta.

Also desis, stop adding that much ketchup to your pasta. That’s not how you make pasta. 🙄

Btw, here’s a pic of the pasta I had made. It’s my favorite dish to make.It’s too easy and I actually enjoy making it. 🙂

DSC04932.JPG

Thai and Mexican I like but not all that much. Not as much as I like Arabic or Desi or even Chinese. But it’s still delicious.

Oh and I think that the only American food that I like is Apple Cinnamon Pie 😀

I love it.

It’s delicious.

In fact forget the pie.

Someone just make me the stuffing for Apple pie.

I’ll just eat it with a spoon 😀

Speaking of Apple pie, I’m not much into desi desserts. The only Desi desserts I like are Jalebis and Habshi Halwa. I used to like Gulab Jamun but I’m sick of it now. We used to eat too many Gulab Jamuns when we were little. Ab dil bhar gaya 😛

I also don’t like those custard trifles they make with fruits and cake and biscuits and jellies in Pakistan. Everyone likes to pretend that it’s something western when it’s really not. Plus Custard is baby food. I don’t like it X-(

I like Cheesecakes and brownies and cupcakes oh and Tiramesu *_*

Btw, I recently made triple layer cheesecake for dessert. It was delicious 😀

DSC05551.JPG

And I had made a few vanilla cupcakes too some few months ago. (I like baking 🙂 )

DSC02229.JPG

But that’s all for this challenge.

The one thing I do wanna share though, is that Inky’s post about how her mom reminded her that she got all that amazing food without even asking for it while there are people who beg for it, kind of struck me.

Now I think about that all the time. Every time I get to eat something good, I get reminded of that. SubhanAllah, may Allah have Mercy on us all and Alhamdullillah for all the privileges I’ve got.

Btw, I’m not really nominating anyone for this challenge. 🙂

– Hiba

 

 

 

30 thoughts on ““Food Challenge”

  1. Firstly,you lose.You didn’t pick one dish. 😛
    Secondly,I liked you post.I really admire the fact that you try hard to balance everything!
    I think most desi style dishes use to much oil. :/ I really want to somehow manage to convince people around me (elders in particular) that it isn’t at all healthy! 😦

    Plus,you make me feel so guilty! 😥 You can make so many things,I know very little!
    That cake looks so perfecto,btw. 😀
    I don’t care call me baby (well,actually don’t) but I like custard. 🙄
    I will stop blabbering now.

    1. Haha I know.
      I wasn’t looking to win anyway. Picking just one dish is not worth the pleasure 😛
      Hai na? Most desi dishes are too oily and sometimes way too spicy. I mean I like spicy food lekin yaar khud par Itna zulm toh na karo ki health kharab hojae…
      Thanks though 🙂
      I’ll tell you something. I used to hate the kitchen. I just used to bake and that too simply because I used to get to eat all those yummy brownies and all that I used to bake. Haha. Cooking toh mamma ne force kar kar ke sikhai hai.
      But I think once you learn, you start enjoying it. It’s not that difficult actually.
      But hey you like custard 😛

  2. I hate pasta to be honest. I don’t like its smell would be more apt. 😛
    But, I loved the deserts here. The cup cakes look so perfectly baked. Wow. ❤
    Here I am like…mjhe bhi …mjhe bhi…
    You wrote it so well Hiba.
    Gulab Jamun….<3 But, I still love it. 😀

      1. Are you throwing shade at me for being Pakistani?
        You better not, acha? 😛
        Plus my higher purpose is not to be a good Pakistani. It’s to be a good person, a good Muslim. If I’m that, then I’m naturally a good impression of Pakistan too, right? 🙂

      2. No way. Dumb? No way. 😛
        On a serious note: I had thought earlier that you’re from an Indian origin. That’s why I was appalled; just a bit. 😉
        Yes, urging to be a nice human being is what’s the need. Islam is what makes us “human beings”. Rare species, these homo-sapiens.

  3. I miss Arab food now, oh God. This post was full of nostalgia of me, and a LOT of hunger pangs, hahah.

    I LOVE baking too! *high five*

    And that cheesecake looks yummers!

    And whoa, NO white nothing huh? Unfortunately, when you’re existing in desi land, it’s a little hard to find brown sugar and stuff like that. Pure torture.

    BTW, in case you don’t have an idea, olive oil has a LOT of calories. Ikr? I found that out recently too. A hundred calories is like less than 1/4th of a baby plastic cup.

    1. Hah yes, but those are healthy calories.
      And I’m not dieting. I’m eating healthy. Counting calories is not healthy. It stops you from eating good food 😛
      And yay baking! ✨✨✨
      Really? But when I was in Pakistan, brown sugar was easier and cheaper to find you know?
      Here it’s more expensive.
      Baby plastic cup though. What a way to put it 😀
      Thanks Maymoona 😀

  4. Well, how did I miss this post?? 😀 that too a “food” post?? 😀 I’m the biggest foodie I’ve ever met 🙄 😉 I’m a south Indian, if you haven’t known that already. But idli and sambar are the most hated food for me. When its idli for breakfast, mom make crispy dosa for me as both can be made by same mix (tip for u) and I don’t like dosa if its not crispy. Curd rice or ‘thairsada’ is Tamil food, and I’m not a tamilian, but I’ve tasted it whenever I went to sis’ hostel when she was studying there. Pasta, I actually don’t like its smell, just like I don’t like noodles,(both once been my favs) thanks to my 10 years of struggling hostel life. But I really liked the look of your pasta. 😋
    About Arabian! Yumm!! I love em. And my mom, she is the biggest fan of Arabian food. Well, my dad is an Arab descendant(his grandad is Arab). So we’ve been brought up with those values he learned from his home. It is only when others point out, we understand we’re different. Like, once my friend said she really liked my coffee cup, and I gifted her a new one exactly like mine. She was surprised, and I was surprised at her surprise. 😅 then she told me people don’t do that here. Also whenever we visit someone, we take some ‘hadya’. Indians don’t do that as much as Arabs. So I too like Arab culture very much. But I’m not Arab. Only Indian😀
    And yeah, loved your write up, and very sorry for this looong essay! 😄

    1. Ha even I like my dosa crispy. And I know right? Arabic traditions are so warm and nice. It’s sad that they are leaving it all behind for modernism.

  5. yay!! finally you did it 🙂 We have quite similar food preferences! I am in love with arabic cuisine too love olives and olive oil in my food.I like italian cuisine as well, they use cheese and sun dried vegetables and olive oil , suiting my taste buds, i like mexican food too because of hotness of their chilies 😀 😀 it was funny ketchup in pasta ,,, never ate that one! though i have eaten indianised pasta with turmeric, chili powder and garam masala. I was craving for sambar and masala dosa yesterday so I actually cooked Sambar today 😀 Yummy it was 😀

    1. Oh wow, we really are similar 😀
      Haha, yeah I’ve had that garam masala and chili powder wala pasta 😛
      Oh nice, didn’t make dosa though? I crave dosa every now and then but I have no idea how to make 🙄

      1. I will do them this weekend 🙂 Bought the ingredients i mean the MTR mix 😀 it doesn’t taste same like authentic dosa but still a bit closer 😀 with coconut chutney and peanut chutney will be good 😀

Leave a Reply

